Letter writer is: George Stivers, Co K, 18th OVI

Nashville

October 30, 1862

DEAR FATHER,
I WRITE YOU BY OUR ORDERLY SERGT HUDSON, WHO IS DISCHARGED FROM SERVICE ON ACC OF CHRONIC DIARRHEA AND LEAVES THIS DAY WITH THE CONVALESCENT TRAIN.

I AM IN GOOD HEALTH, ALSO THE SOLDIERS AT THIS POST ARE IN FAIR HEALTH.  WE HAVE BEEN CUT OFF FROM THE CHRISTIAN WORLD FOR TWO MONTHS, BUT EXPECT SOON THAT MAIL WILL BE OPENED (?) _I_USED TO COMMENT ON THE KENTUCKY CAMPAIGN  EVERY LOYAL CITIZEN FEELS THAT IT IS DISGRACEFUL.  I AM NOT DISAPPOINTED.  I HAVE FELT THAT EITHER GENL BUELL WAS A TRAITOR OR THAT HE LACKED CAPACITY BUT I CHARGED HIM WITH THE FORMER, GEN LUCHIN (?) SAID IN HIS DEFENSE THAT NO REBEL LIKED HIM BUT NO LOYAL MAN BUT WHAT DID AND GENL BUELL CAN SAY TO THE REVERSE.

DISLOYALTY FEELS US IN AND AROUND THIS PLACE.  WE ARE ___(SENDING)__?  15,000 TROOPS AND 9,000 TO 10,000 HORSES OFF OF THE COUNTRY WITHIN 15 MILES OF THIS PLACE.  WE SEND OUT DAILY A FORAGE TRAIN AND FROM 100 TO 500 WAGONS WITH A BRIGADE OF INF. AND BATTTERY AND BRING IN WHEAT OATS CORN CATTLE SHEEP AND HOGS AND VERY FEW RECEIPTS GIVEN.  A GREAT MANY WERE LEFT HERE IN HOSPITAL AND CONVALESCENET BARRACKS AND NOW ___ OR (?) LEFT ARE DISCHARGED DAILY AND NUMBERS ARE BURIED HERE.  WE MAKE FREQUENT FORAGES ON THE ENEMYS ___ DETACHMENTS AND PICK UP _____OF THEM.. WE MADE A NIGHT EXPEDITIONN ABOUT 2 WEEKS AGO INTO 1500 INFTY , BATTERY AND 300 CAVERY TO LAVERGNE, 15 MILES FROM ___.  THEY WERE ABOUT 2000 CAVELRY AND INFT AND ONE PIECE OF ARTILLERY.

THE MOST OF THEM FLED WITHOUT FIRING.  WE KILLED AND WOUNDED 100  AND TOOK FROM 200-300 PRISIONERS.  WE HAVE VERY STRONG WORKS HERE AND THINK NOTHING LESS THAN 20,000 COULD TAKE THIS PLACE.  I AM PICKING UP A FEW TROPHIES… I GOT AND INTEND TO BRING HOME A LARGE DOUBLE SATIN FLAG, ALSO AT THE LAVERGNE FIGHT I GOT 2 SHOT GUNS AND CAVALRY SABERS.   I KEPT THE BEST GUN TO SEND HOME.  I KEEP MY ___ WELL.  WHEN THE WAY IS OPEN I WILL WRITE YOU MORE FULLY.
MY LOVE TO ALL,
YOURS TRULY,
GEORGE

Source: eBay January 2011

