[in camp near Murfreesboro, Tennessee 10 January 1863]

…the great battle at Murfreesboro which lasted five days we lost five in killed and six severely wounded and six slightly wounded [a list of the casualties follows] our boys fought like tigers and ha[ve] gained the highest praise I went to see Columbus Morgan he was under the influence of morphine and so could not speak to me I was then on my way to Nashville as guard to a wagon train when I got back they did not know any thing about him. I then went down in the cellar where the dead were and hunted amoung them till I found the poor fellow wrapped up in his overcoat. I knew him as soon as I saw him. His side was all torn up by a piece of shell…” A resident of Stark County, Illinois, Ervin mustered into service on 17 June 1861 and was wounded in action at Dalton, Georgia on 27 Feburary 1864.

Nate D. Sanders

