A 3 January 1863 letter to his father, from Murfreesboro, just days before his death, discussing other cavalrymen who were killed: “…I write you these few lines to let you know that the big fight which has been expected here has been fought. It was on the last day of /62. We drove the Yanks back six miles with a heavy loss on both sides. Our loss in killed, wounded and missing is reckoned at five thousand, the enemy’s much greater. McCown’s Division sustained a very heavy loss perhaps greater than any other as there were more men wounded in proportion to the number killed than I ever heard of in my life. There were about 100 wounded in the 11th Tex. while there were from 10-fifteen to twenty killed. The wounded in our company are as follows: Lt. Burks, flesh wound between the knee and ankle joint, Lt. Murrell, flesh wound in the thigh, I. Yoakum, flesh wound in the thigh also with a spent ball in the shoulder, Ed Ashford with a small ball in the nose between the eyes, Alf. Hart wounded slightly in the cheek, Wm. Johnson…flesh wound in the shoulder, N. Gile…slight wound in the back with a piece of a shell, Latimer…very slightly wounded in the arm, E.E. Caveness was slightly wounded by some of our own men running over him. I do not know of any that were killed. I do not know whether we can hold this place or not for the Federals can reinforce as fast as they please. If I find that we are going to evacuate this place I am going to get on the cares and go to Chattanooga. I was not wounded till the very last of the fight and then I was wounded each time within ten minutes of each other. When I was wounded the first time it was when we were falling back from a battery…breast works that we tried to take and did not succeed. It knocked me down and I thought my leg was broken, but I soon found that it was not for I could work my feet. So I pulled off my knapsack, haversack, cartridge box and blanket and thought I would try to get away from the bullets. Bombshells, grape shot and canister shot were falling around me as thick apparently as you would sow wheat. I got up and struck a turkey-trop for the Cedar brake which was about forty yards, but I did not go more than twenty yards before a minie ball struck me on the shoulder blade. I do not know how far it knocked me for I did not go back to see, but as soon as I recovered a little I crawled to the Cedar brake and made my escape. When I get a little better I will write you a long letter. I think I will soon be well enough to report to my company. In the fight we took forty pieces of artillery and a great many other things too numerous to mention now…You must not be uneasy about me for I will be well taken care of…

_____________________

14 Civil War Confederate 11th Texas Cavalry Company F autograph letters signed. Written by Issac M. Yoakum, during a time period from 1862-1863 from Texas to Camp locations in Mississippi and on throughout Tennessee.

Nate D. Sanders

