Camp Trousdail, Tenn. July 10, 1861 Mr. James Caldwell Dear Sir[:]

It is with the greatest of pleasure that I now take the opportunity of writing you a short letter to let you know that I am well at this time and I hope when these few lines come to hand they will find you enjoying the same. I have not been sick a single day yet and feel like I could fall ten Yankees bye myself. Jim[,] Mr. Tipps has told me that your corn looks very well. He says that the field next to the spring would find it the titest place we ever seen[,] we don’t have the privilige of a nigger. We draw money the 8[th].

You must excuse me for not writing sooner as I have such a bad chance to write.

Well I have no more news to write at this time-give my love to all and write me whether you have got a fine patch of water melons & musk melons, if so I intend to try to come to see you all the first of September meeting. So nothing more at this time.

Please write soon to J. E. Taft

W. P. A. Civil War Records, Vol. 2, p. 27.

